Lumbye String Collection

for String Quartet or String Quintet or String Orchestra

19th century composer, Hans Christian Lumbye, is known internationally as the leading Danish composer of dance music. This string ensemble collection includes waltzes, polkas, mazurkas, galops, and a quadrille. It can be played as a quartet with violin 1, violin 2, viola, and cello or as a quintet with bass. Violin Part 3 books, which can substitute for the viola part, are available. It is also suitable for string orchestra.

View Score Cover
View Sample Score Page

We ship packages to domestic addresses only.
For information on where to order our publications for international shipment please check here.

Score & Parts: $34.00

Score: $9.00

Parts: $25.00

Lumbye String Collection - Violin 3 Part Book

Part Book: $6.00

This Violin 3 Part Book doubles the viola part, with octave changes when necessary.

Tunes in this Collection...
“Agnes Polka”
“Alice Polka”
“Anna Mazurka”
“Auctions Galop”
“Blanca Walzer”
“Brude Vals”
“Champagner Galopp”
“Christa Walzer”
“David Polka”
“Deborah Mazurka”
“Donau Blumen Quadrille”


This collection of waltzes, galops, marches, polkas, etc. is similar in style to those by Johann Strauss, and are of the highest quality. The dances have been excellently scored for strings by Deborah Greenblatt, with the melody spread around the different parts. The pieces are all delightful and very melodic. Players need to be of at least intermediate level and the 1st violinist--advanced level.
- Dr. Michael Vidulich, President,
The Australian and New Zealand Viola Society Journal, February, 2004

(Grades 5 - 6) If you need something refreshing for your string quartet or quintet (with bass), you may want to consider the Lumbye String Collection. ...these dance tunes have been skillfully arranged by Greenblatt. ...great for an advanced school ensemble or a professional group. All of the parts are interesting and will provide excellent material for concerts or for background, reception entertainment. All players get turns at the enticing rhythm patterns. Meter signatures and tempi are varied, including 2/4, 3/4, 6/8, and 3/8. The dances in this collection would need some rehearsing, but the results would definitely be worth the effort.”
- Patricia Cox,
American String Teacher

The total playing time of the collection is about 1 1/2 hours, if one observes most of the repeats. Some of the shorter pieces, such as the Anna Mazurka and Auctions Galop, have some surprisingly dramatic sections, contrasting nicely with more lyrical sections. This effective use of lyricism contrasting with more lively rhythms is found in some of the waltzes as well, notably the Christa Walzer. The music is suitable for intermediate to advanced players. There is a variety of rhythms, including some syncopation, accidentals sprinkled here and there, and some rather fat runs and arpeggios for all the voices. This is good music for gigs or concverts with a focus on easy listening, light classical music. The music is tuneful, with catchy rhythms. Unlike most of the Strauss waltz arrangements that this reviewer has played, all the voices in these arrangements contribute to the melody line...it does make for quite satisfying playing for all the players. The violist at this reading clearly enjoyed having a solo in every piece instead of merely supplying ‘rest, 2, 3’ accompaniment in each bar! To entice your group to play this music, one can mention that the second violin regularly plays the ‘first’ part, with the first violin accompanying. There are often duets between two of the voices, and as solos go, even the double bass player had her moments!”
- J. Viljoen,
Canadian Viola Society Newsletter

Shipping Info

Sign up for our Mailing List